NCMN homepage


Discovery Could Increase Functionality of Electronics
polymer device

Xia Hong, Stephen Ducharme, and colleagues have demonstrated a method for altering the properties of a nanoscopic material, pointing the way toward merging several functions of modern electronics into a single component. (6/7/17)

Zeng Receives Royal Society of Chemistry Award
Xiao Cheng Zeng

The Royal Society of Chemistry has awarded Xiao Cheng Zeng its Surfaces and Interfaces Award for 2017. The annual award honors outstanding and innovative research on the behavior of chemical systems at surfaces or interfaces. (5/9/17)

Zeng & Team Publish on Porous Materials
Xiao Cheng Zeng research image

Xiao Cheng Zeng and colleagues published an article May 2 in Nature Communications. They learned that ions can be used to fabricate new two- and three-dimensional structures on a wide range of other host materials, which are suitable for organic electronics, catalysis and bioengineering. (5/2/17)

Argyropoulos Receives Fellowship and Award
Christos Argyropoulos

Christos Argyropoulos has been chosen an Office of Naval Research Fellow and will spend 10 weeks this summer at the NRL in Washington, D.C. He has also recently received the Young Scientist Award from the International Union of Radio Science to attend their General Assembly in Montreal, Canada from August 19-26. (4/27/17)

NCMN Members Earn Promotion, Tenure
Voelte-Keegan building

Three NCMN faculty members are earning promotions. Promoted to full professor: Shannon Bartelt-Hunt and Kirill Belashchenko. Promoted to associate professor and granted tenure: Jian Zhang. Congratulations! (4/24/17)

Upcoming Events


Outreach Events

Events Calendar      MediaHub Videos      Nano



Follow NCMN!

Facebook     Twitter     MediaHub     Google+


NNCI logo

Give to NCMN

UNL continues to make waves in the area of nanoscience. With your support, the Nebraska Center for Materials and Nanoscience will be positioned to continue its reputation for research and education. Please consider giving to the NCMN Research and Education Fund.

Faculty Spotlight: Joshua Darr

Joshua Darr

Read more about Darr's research.