Sy-Hwang Liou, Professor

Sy-Hwang Liou

Sy-Hwang Liou

Physics & Astronomy
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
085 Jorgensen Hall
Lincoln, Nebraska 68588-0299
Office: 402-472-2405

Research Interests

  • Magnetic sensors
  • Magnetic Force Microscopy - magnetic domain images and advanced MFM tips for improving magnetic images and local probes.
  • Microcantilever torgue magnetometer - characterization of magnetic nanostructures.
  • Nanofabrications - Cantilevers for high sensitive devices.

The research program has been funded by the National Science Foundation, Army Research Office, DARPA, ONR, W. M. Keck Foundation, SERDP and the Nebraska Research Initiative

Patents and Awards

  • Bernard Doudin, Cheol-Soo Yang, Andrei Sokolov, Sy-Hwang Liou, Lu Yuan, “Application of High Spin Polarization Materials in Two Terminal Non-Volatile Bistable Memory Devices”, Patent # 6657888, 12/2/2003.
  • S. H. Liou, 2002 Excellent Presentation Award in the Magnetic Society of Japan, 26th annual conference of MSJ.


  • L. Yuan, L. Gao, R. Sabirianov, S. H. Liou, M. D. Chabot, D. H. Min, J. Moreland and Bao Shan Han, “Microcantilever Torque Magnetometry Study of Patterned Magnetic Film”, IEEE Trans. on Magnetics, 42, 3234 (2006).
  • Baruth, L. Yuan, J.D. Burton, K. Janicka, E.Y. Tsymbal, S.H. Liou, S. Adenwalla, “Domain overlap in exchange-coupled [Co/Pt]/NiO/[Co/Pt] multilayers” Appl. Phys. Lett., 89, 202505 (2006).
  • L. Yuan, Y. S. Lin, Dexin Wang and S. H. Liou, “Tuning Magnetic Microstucture of Reference Layer in Magnetic Tunning Junctions”, IEEE Trans. on Magnetics, 43, 2788 (2007).
  • I.-C. Chen, L.-H. Chen, A. I. Gapin, S. Jin, L. Yuan and S.-H. Liou, "Iron-platinum coated carbon nanocone probes on tipless cantilevers for high resolution magnetic force imaging", Nanotechnology, 19, 075501 (2008).
  • S. H. Liou, Rui Zhang, Stephen E. Russek, L. Yuan, Sean T. Halloran, and David P. Pappas, “Dependence of noise in magnetic tunnel junction sensors on annealing field and temperature”, J. Appl. Phys., 103, 07E920 (2008).


  • S. S. Malhotra, Ph.D., 1996, now with Western Digital Corp, Thesis: “Nanostructured Magnetic Thin Films”
  • Hanqing Li, PhD.,1998, now with MIT, Thesis: “Multilayer Josephson Devices using High Temperature Superconducting Bicrystal Junctions”
  • Lan Gao,  Ph.D., 2004, now with Headway Technologies.Thesis: “Magnetic Interactions in Nanostructured Films”
  • Lu Yuan, Ph.D., 2006, now with Western Digital Corp: Thesis: “Study of Magnetic Layers in Magnetic Sensors” , the 2007 Folsom Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Award.